Of Current Interest

World e-Parliament Conference 2014 - updates to information 16 April 2014

Here is some more information on the World e-Parliament Conference, which will take place in Seoul (Republic of Korea) on 8-10 May 2014.

Annotated agenda

The annotated agenda is now online, with a description of each session at the conference: http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/eparl14/annotated-agenda.pdf


More than 60 parliaments have already registered a delegation for the conference. If your parliament has not yet registered, please do so at the earliest opportunity. Online registration: http://tinyurl.com/wepc2014

All conference documents are available at http://www.ipu.org/splz-e/eparl14.htm

Please contact the IPU Secretariat for more information (Mr. Andy Richardson ar@ipu.org; Ms. Seonghee Jeong shj@ipu.org).

IFLA conference - August 2014 27 March 2014

The International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) Section on Library and Research Services for Parliaments will hold its 30th annual pre-conference from 12 to 14 August 2014 in Paris. It will be hosted by and co-organised with the French Assemblée Nationale. Information on the pre-conference will be accessible through http://www.ifla.org/services-for-parliaments/conferences and on the pre-conference website http://preifla2014.assemblee-nationale.fr

ASGP meeting in Geneva, Switzerland, from 17-20 March 2014 20 March 2014

The Association of Secretaries General of Parliaments (ASGP) met in Geneva, Switzerland.  A number of documents discussed at the conference are available on this site under Past Meetings.

Venues for future ASGP meetings are as follows:

  • Geneva (Switzerland) - 12-16 October 2014

New Members

At the ASGP session in Geneva (17-20 March 2014), the following new members were admitted:

Mr. Tshewang Norbu    
Secretary General of the National Council of Bhutan
Ms. Petya Gladilova 
Acting Secretary General of the National Assembly of Bulgaria
(replacing Mr. Ivan Slavchov)
Ms. Emma Zobilma Mantoro 
Secretary General of the National Assembly of Burkina Faso
(replacing Mr. Alphonse Nombré)
Ms. Libéria das Dores Antunes Brito  
Secretary General of the National Assembly of Cabo Verde
(replacing Mr. Adalberto de Oliveira Mendes)
Mr. Michel Meva'a M'eboutou   
Secretary General of the Senate of Cameroon
Mr. Victorino Nka Obiang Maye  
Secretary General of the Senate of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea
Mr. Olivier Chabord 
Secretary General of the Questure of the National Assembly of France
(replacing Mrs. Danièle Rivaille)
Mr. Satoru Gohara 
Deputy Secretary General of the House of Councillors of Japan
(replacing Mr. Takeshi Nakamura, who has become Secretary General)
Mr. Ji, Sung-bae     
Deputy Secretary General of the National Assembly of the Republic of Korea
(replacing Mr. Chung, Jin-Suk)
Mr. Ibrahim Krishi 
Secretary General of the Palestinian Legislative Council
Mr. Vela Konivaro 
Clerk of the Parliament of Papua New Guinea
(replacing Mr. Don Pandan)
Mr. Daniel Guspan 
Secretary General of the National Council of the Slovak Republic
(replacing Mr. Viktor Stromček)
Mr. Abdelgadir Abdalla Khalafalla  
Secretary General of the National Assembly of Sudan
(replacing Mr. Ibrahim Mohamed Ibrahim)
Mr. Mateus Ximenes Belo 
Secretary General of the National Parliament of Timor Leste
(replacing Mr. João Rui Amaral)
Associate Member:
Mr. Jandos Asanov 
Secretary General of TURKPA (Parliamentary Assembly of the Turkic countries)
(replacing Mr. Ramil Hasanov)

Last Meeting in Brief

Geneva, 17-20 March 2014
The ASGP met in Geneva from 
17-20 March 2014. The attendance list is now available under Past meetings.